Sports

Why Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty did not go to a full VAR overview


We’re analysing each VAR resolution made throughout all 64 games on the 2022 World Cup. Find out why the penalty that Cristiano Ronaldo gained for Portugal in opposition to Ghana did not go to a full VAR overview.

After every recreation, we check out the foremost incidents to look at and clarify the method each by way of VAR protocol and the Laws of the Game.

Fixtures, consequence & bracket: Daily World Cup schedule

Possible penalty overturn: Salisu foul on Ronaldo

What occurred: Portugal have been awarded a penalty within the 62nd minute when Cristiano Ronaldo was knocked over by Mohammed Salisu.

VAR resolution: Penalty stands, scored by Ronaldo.

VAR overview: This solely required a fast test by the VAR, United States referee Armando Villarreal.

Replays confirmed that Ronaldo undoubtedly bought to the ball first forward of Salisu earlier than there was contact on the Portugal striker’s boot and higher physique.

Even although this might actually be thought-about a smooth penalty, we have now to take a look at it in VAR phrases; it might not be seen as a transparent and apparent error by the match referee, fellow American official Ismail Elfath.

If Salisu had bought to the ball first earlier than Ronaldo this might have been grounds for a full overview, however sadly for the Ghana defender he failed to take action.

Ronaldo additionally thought he had scored within the thirty first minute, however the referee had already blown for a foul in opposition to him for a push on Alexander Djiku. The VAR is unable to overview something after the referee’s whistle, so he can’t look again on the foul to award the purpose.



Source link