1st T20I: Ravi Bishnoi Steals The Present On Debut As Hosts Win By 6 Wickets | Cricket Information

Ravi Bishnoi’s two-wicket haul was backed up by high quality knocks by Rohit Sharma (40) and Suryakumar Yadav (34*) as India defeated West Indies by six wickets within the first T20I of the three-match sequence right here on the Eden Gardens on Wednesday. With this win, India has gained a 1-0 lead within the three-match sequence and the second T20I will now be performed on Friday on the identical venue.

Chasing 158, India acquired off to a quickfire begin as openers Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan placed on 58 runs inside the primary six overs. The 64-run opening stand lastly got here to an finish within the eighth over as Roston Chase acquired the higher of Rohit (40). Chase acquired his second wicket within the twelfth over as he dismissed Kishan (35) and India was decreased to 93/2, nonetheless needing 65 runs for the win.

Within the subsequent over, India was given a physique blow as Fabien Allen had Virat Kohli (17) caught by the hands of skipper Kieron Pollard at long-off and this meant there have been two new batters on the crease — Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav. Pant (8) failed with the bat as he was dismissed by Sheldon Cottrell and India was decreased to 114/4 within the fifteenth over.

Ultimately, Suryakumar (34*) and Venkatesh Iyer (24*) ensured that India register a six-wicket win with seven balls to spare.

Earlier, Nicholas Pooran starred with the bat as he performed a knock of 61 runs to assist West Indies publish 157/7. Despatched into bat, West Indies acquired off to a foul begin because the guests misplaced Brandon King (4) on the fifth ball of the innings.

Kyle Mayers and Nicholas Pooran then scored briskly and after the top of powerplay overs, West Indies’ rating learn 44/1. The 47-run stand for the second wicket was minimize quick by Yuzvendra Chahal as he had Mayers (31) adjudged leg-before wicket within the seventh over.

Ravi Bishnoi acquired his maiden T20I wicket within the eleventh over of the innings as he had Roston Chase (4) adjudged leg-before wicket. In the exact same over, Bishnoi dismissed Rovman Powell (2) and the guests had been decreased to 74/4. Nicholas Pooran stored on holding one find yourself and the guests had been on the lookout for a giant end within the remaining overs.


Within the remaining 4 overs, West Indies managed so as to add 49 extra runs to the overall, and ultimately, the workforce from the Caribbean posted a rating of greater than the 150-run mark. Pooran was dismissed by Harshal Patel but it surely was not earlier than the left-hander performed a knock of 61. Kieron Pollard (24*) remained unbeaten for the guests.

Temporary Scores: West Indies 157/7 (Nicholas Pooran 61, Kyle Mayers 31; Ravi Bishnoi 2-17) vs India 162/4 (Rohit Sharma 40, Ishan Kishan 35; Roston Chase 2-14).

Subjects talked about on this article

Source link